The Boy Who Spoke Clouds - The Boy Who Spoke Clouds
[ SSS030 · Released · Feb 24, 2009 ]

The Boy Who Spoke Clouds

Regular price $5.00

The Boy Who Spoke Clouds debut album was recorded in 2004-2005 at a beach house over a four month period without release in mind. All the songs were recorded via the microphone of a Sony handycam video HI8 into a cheap soundcard. Everything from flamenco handclaps, percussive chanting, foot stomping and chopsticks hitting guitars were incorporated, sometimes in the hope of mimicking a sound Adam had no means of producing conventionally, and sometimes, trying the ridiculous in an attempt to dispel self conscious methods of music production and simultaneously to push himself out of his regular habits and musical clicks. ‘One of my biggest fears as an artist is to repeat myself, to fall back on my comforts. These recordings began as explorations outside of my usual musical vernacular. They very quickly became something intensely personal for me.’

On this album, Adam sings predominantly of death, transitions, and one’s engagement with the mystery before the answer or question arise. ‘My fascination with things in-between, the shadows between the branches, have crept into these songs. The songs are like little invocations, prayers to not knowing.’

Recorded & Mastered by Adam Casey.
Female voice on 'Ending' by Jenny Jo Oakley.
Violin on 'Fill This Room' by Alex Taylor.

Read more » Less
01. Where Have We Gone?
02. Hermit
03. Energy Rescue
04. Goodbye
05. Fill This Room
06. Happening
07. Passing
08. Fear At 3am
09. Separate
10. Falling, Slowly
11. Every Drop Of The Sea
12. Ending